Skip to main content
Jump to navigation
Link news

The Department for Culture, Media and Sport has announced a shortlist of 27 cities which will have the opportunity to bid for super-fast broadband funding.

In his Budget statement, Chancellor George Osborne announced that £50 million in public finance would be set aside for network investment in a number of second-tier cities.

Ten larger cities - including London, Edinburgh, Cardiff and Belfast - are to share a further £100 million from the government's Urban Broadband Fund.

Jeremy Hunt, the Culture Minister, said there is a "fantastic opportunity" for 27 cities across the UK to demonstrate how they will revolutionise the way their residents and businesses get online.

"These ultra-fast speeds will allow more cities in the UK to compete with the fastest in the world," he stated.

Mr Hunt said this will deliver new opportunities for growth, assist the development of high tech industries and enable the transformation of public services.

The following cities will have the opportunity to claim a share of the £50 million public fund - Aberdeen, Brighton & Hove, Cambridge, Chelmsford, Coventry, Derby, Dundee, Exeter, Gloucester, Hull, Leicester, Londonderry/Derry, Newport, Norwich, Oxford, Perth, Peterborough, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Preston, Salford, Southampton, Stoke-on-Trent, Sunderland, Swansea, Wolverhampton and York.

Join the conversation

comments powered by Disqus

Stay up to date

  • Google+ Follow uSwitchTech
  • Subscribe to our RSS feed

Latest Comments

Search news