Skip to main content
Jump to navigation

T20 cricket action is coming to BT Sport this summer, with live coverage of the Caribbean Premier League 2014.

BT Sport has secured a two-year deal to broadcast the tournament, which features all the top West Indian players alongside a host of international stars.

caribbean premier league t20

Six teams from across eight countries will take part, with games to be played in Guyana, Barbados, Grenada, Antigua, Trinidad, Jamaica, St Lucia and St Kitts.

Each franchise plays each other in a round-robin format, with the top four sides progressing to a play-off phase.

BT Sport viewers can look forward to seeing the big-hitting Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Bravo in action, plus the likes of Shahid Afridi and Muttiah Muralitharan.

Former England star Kevin Pietersen is also set to play in the tournament, having signed for St Lucia Zouks.

Grant Best, Senior Executive Channel Producer at BT Sport, said the broadcaster is delighted to enhance and expand its multi-sport line-up with T20 action.

He described the Caribbean Premier League as being "one of the most exciting cricket tournaments" in the world.

And with Kevin Pietersen continuing his cricketing comeback in the West Indies, there will be added interest for many UK sports fans.

Damien O’Donohoe, Chief Executive of the Caribbean Premier League, said: "We are delighted to partner with BT Sport, who have quickly established themselves as a major player in sports media in the UK.

"The Caribbean Premier League was a huge success in its first year and we are now attracting the world’s best players," he stated.

"We have big ambitions for the tournament going forward."

BT Sport’s live TV coverage will begin on July 11th at 7pm, with the opening clash between Amazon Warriors and Hawksbills in Grenada.

Join the conversation

comments powered by Disqus

Stay up to date

  • Google+ Follow uSwitchTech
  • Subscribe to our RSS feed

Latest Comments

Search news