closedownarrowexternal-linklogo-verticalmenu-barsearch Skip to main content
Jump to navigation
sky q split-screen football highlights

Sky Sports has added 14 extra English Football League (EFL) matches to its schedule for August and September.

Among the matches now set to be shown live is the clash between two past European Cup winners Aston Villa and Nottingham Forest. 

Ipswich Town's match against East Anglian rivals Norwich City is another stand-out of the opening weeks of the season, as is Derby County's game against East Midlands neighbours Burton Albion.

The extra live matches mean Sky Sports will show 127 EFL games as they happen next season, as well as 126 live Premier League fixtures.

Gary Hughes, Head of Football at Sky Sports, commented: "The passion and support shown by Football League fans is second to none, and with local derbies and the meeting of some football giants, these games will again offer up some of the EFL's great stories to supporters across the country.

"They continue an excellent 2016-17 season, with more football than ever before, and more ways to follow all the action that excites and entertains us."

The full schedule for the first two months of the season is as follows:

August

  • Fulham  v  Newcastle United  Fri 5 Aug  7.45pm
  • QPR  v  Leeds United  Sun 7 Aug  12.00pm
  • Sheffield Wednesday  v  Aston Villa Sun 7 Aug  4.30pm
  • Brighton  v  Nottingham Forest Fri 12 Aug  7.45pm
  • Norwich City  v  Sheffield  Wednesday  Sat 13 Aug  5.30pm
  • Derby County  v  Aston Villa  Sat 20 Aug   5.30pm
  • Ipswich Town  v  Norwich City  Sun 21 Aug  12.00pm
  • Burton Albion  v  Derby County Fri 26 Aug  7.45pm
  • Newcastle United  v  Brighton  Sat 27 Aug 5.30pm

September

  • Peterborough  v  Swindon Town  Sat 3 Sept  12.15pm  
    • Northampton Town  v  MK Dons  Sun 4 Sept  12.00pm
    • Gillingham  v  Sheffield Utd Sun 4 Sept 2.15pm
    • Reading  v  Ipswich Town  Fri 9 Sept 8.00pm
    • Derby County  v  Newcastle United  Sat 10 Sept 5.30pm
    • Aston Villa v  Nottingham Forest  Sun 11 Sept  1.15pm
    • Cardiff City  v  Leeds United  Sat 17 Sept  12.30pm
    • Birmingham City  v  Sheffield Wednesday  Sat 17 Sept  5.30pm
    • Preston North End  v  Wigan Athletic  Fri 23 Sept  7.45pm
    • Aston Villa  v  Newcastle United  Sat 24 Sept 5.30pm 

Join the conversation

comments powered by Disqus

Stay up to date

  • Google+ Follow uSwitchTech
  • Subscribe to our RSS feed

Latest Comments

Search news