Skip to main content
  2. News
  3. 2016
  4. May
  5. Vodafone offers free roaming to 40 European destinations

Vodafone offers free roaming to 40 European destinations

Network ups game as roaming nears end of the road.
Mobile Roaming Charges

Vodafone has revealed it will offer free roaming in 40 European destinations for both new and upgrading pay monthly customers on its Red and Red Value packages.

The network’s move comes after Tesco Mobile confirmed it is scrapping roaming charges for the summer across Europe.

Vodafone’s announcement puts it alongside Tesco and Three when it comes to using a smartphone abroad. Calls, texts and picture messages will all be free while abroad.

However, customers looking to use data will find that their UK bundles are capped at a lower rate when travelling.

Users will be able to use no more than 4GB of data when abroad, even if they pay for a 12GB package in the UK.

Vodafone’s 8GB Red Value plan will score you 2GB of data while on foreign shores.

While this is still generous, it means users should keep a keen eye on how much data they’re using, so as not to avoid any additional costs.

Streaming music and video will quickly eat into data allowances.

Vodafone’s decision to stop roaming fees comes after EU legislation cut the cost of using a mobile when travelling in member states from the end of April.

A blanket ban on roaming charges will come into force from June 2017.

The countries signed up for Vodafone’s new deal are

  • Albania
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina-
  • Bulgaria
  • Channel Islands (Jersey & Guernsey)
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark (including the Faroe Islands)
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France (including Corsica)
  • French Territories
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Isle of Man
  • Italy (including Vatican City)
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal (including Azores & Madeira)
  • Republic of Ireland
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain (including the Balearic Islands)
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey



Category: News
back to top