Skip to main content
Jump to navigation
game of thrones series 7 1

Series seven is the penultimate season of HBO's fantasy epic 'Game of Thrones', but the show will live on well beyond its core series. HBO has announced it's working on no fewer than four spinoff series based around the world of Westeros.

The network has signed deals with four writers to explore "multiple possible spinoffs".

These writers are Max Borenstein ('Kong: Skull Island'), Jane Goldman ('Kingsman: The Golden Circle'), Brian Helgeland ('Legend') and Carly Wray ('Mad Men').

Showrunners Dan Weiss and David Benioff will reportedly be attached to each project, as will George RR Martin, who wrote the novels upon which the series is based.

However, there's no guarantee all four spinoffs will ever see the light of day. In a statement, an HBO spokesperson said: "We'll take as much or as little time as the writers need and, as with all our development, we will evaluate what we have when the scripts are in."

Series seven starts at 2am on 17th July here in the UK, though it will be repeated at 9pm that evening. It airs on HBO in the US, and Sky Atlantic in the UK.

Source: Variety

Join the conversation

comments powered by Disqus

Stay up to date

  • Google+ Follow uSwitchTech
  • Subscribe to our RSS feed

Latest comments

  • Dave Beck 9 months ago EU portability streaming law:... Netflix already provide a service if the country has a Netflix service. My UK Netflix account works for US...
  • Robert KołOdziej 9 months ago EU portability streaming law:... Netflix, for example, detects and blocks VPN. Tried it and failed just before Easter when we were abroad....
  • Vorteilspack 9 months ago Is Netflix making its own news... Oh no! Whoever told Netflix to do that did a good job sucking up money for something the world doesn't...

Search news