logo-rebrand Skip to main content

Here's why you should stop sharing your Netflix password

Here's why you should stop sharing your Netflix password

Sharing your Netflix password with other people has been common practice since the platform launched. In fact, the streaming service giant pretty much expects it.

Netflix quickly introduced account profiles that made password sharing easier, knowing full well that the more people you share it with, the less likely you are to ever cancel your subscription. This was then replicated in other major streaming platforms including Amazon Prime Video and Disney Plus.

Each level of Netflix subscription allows for a different number of devices to access your account at any one time. The Basic plan limits you to streaming on one device at a time, whereas the Netflix Standard plan lets you stream on two at a time, and the Premium plan allows four devices at once.

There used to be a limit on the maximum number of devices you could connect to your Netflix account –– meaning you had to choose whether to use it on your iPad or on your smart TV –– however that limitation was discontinued.

Netflix password sharing crackdown

Netflix Get Netflix as part of your Sky TV subscription

Back in 2019, Netflix chief operating officer, Greg Peters stated that while there were currently “no big plans” to target people sharing their passwords, the company would "continue to monitor the situation" closely. And it looks as though he was true to his word, because Netflix is now looking to tighten the reins and limit password sharing to those in your immediate household.

It will be testing out a new feature that will see users receive notifications asking them to verify they live with the account holder. The message will read, "If you don't live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching."

You will then be prompted to enter a code that has been sent to the account holder either by email or text to verify the account and continue streaming. If you don't live with the account holder, this could obviously cause a problem as they wouldn't be on hand to authorise your log in, leaving you in a temporary streaming limbo.

These verifications are being sent to “hundreds” of users every year according to a Netflix spokesperson, and a statement from the company said, "This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorised to do so."

At the moment this is still in the trial stage, and a decision has yet to be made on whether the company will roll this out throughout its entire customer base.

Netflix terms and conditions

Even though we all do it, Netflix does state clearly in its terms and conditions that password sharing must be limited to those in your household.

"The Netflix service and any content viewed through the service are for your personal and non-commercial use only and may not be shared with individuals beyond your household."

Get your own Netflix account

Get Netflix on Sky

Is now the time to finally get your own Netflix account rather than sharing with a housemate you lived with three years ago? You can easily add Netflix to your Sky TV subscription and access all of the best content from both platforms via one device.

Read more …

Share this article