Skip to main content
Jump to navigation
EE news

EE has announced the nominations for the EE Rising Star Award 2014 - the only BAFTA to be decided by a public vote.

Five actors and actresses considered to be "bright stars in the future of cinema" have been shortlisted by the UK broadband provider.

They are Dane Dehaan ('Lincoln' and 'Kill Your Darlings'), George MacKay ('The Boys Are Back' and 'Sunshine on Leith'), Lupita Nyong’O ('12 Years a Slave'), Will Poulter ('We’re the Millers' and 'Wild Bill') and Lea Seydoux ('Inglourious Basterds' and 'Midnight in Paris').

Voting is now open for the award at, with the winner to be announced at the EE British Academy Film Awards on Sunday February 16th.

Past recipients include James McAvoy, Eva Green, Shia LaBeouf, Noel Clarke, Kristen Stewart, Tom Hardy, Adam Deacon and Juno Temple.

Spencer McHugh, Director of Brand at EE, said the success of previous winners of the EE Rising Star Award "speaks volumes" in terms of the significance of the accolade.

"The previous winners have gone on to star in no less than 23 BAFTA and other major award-winning films," he noted.

"Film remains very important to EE and we are delighted to be able to support the up and coming film stars of tomorrow.”

Join the conversation

comments powered by Disqus

Stay up to date

  • Google+ Follow uSwitchTech
  • Subscribe to our RSS feed

Latest Comments

Search news