Skip to main content
Jump to navigation
BT news

The Chancellor has announced the 12 'smaller cities' that will benefit from the £50 million Urban Broadband Fund in his Autumn Statement.

The fund is designed to help expand coverage of broadband ranging between 80Mb and 100Mb in so-called neglected areas, as well as improving public Wi-Fi access.

Last year, George Osborne announced the super-connected cities fund as part of the coalition's £30 billion National Infrastructure Plan.

So far, £114.1 million has been allocated to ten of the UK's biggest cities, with an extra £50 million now set aside in order to help boost the provision of superfast broadband in smaller cities that are "not served by the private sector" – namely those where Virgin Media and BT have a limited presence.

The initial list of 27 cities was unveiled in May this year, but this has been whittled down, as Mr Osborne explained: "On top of broadband expansion for our countryside and our larger cities, we're funding ultrafast broadband in 12 smaller cities.”

The cities in question (Aberdeen, Brighton and Hove, Cambridge, Coventry, Derry-Londonderry, Derby, Newport, Oxford, Perth, Portsmouth, Salford and York) are set to begin benefitting from the expanded superfast broadband rollout next year.

It will help to support the coalition's target of bringing superfast broadband services to 90 per cent of the UK by the spring of 2015.

Join the conversation

comments powered by Disqus

Stay up to date

  • Google+ Follow uSwitchTech
  • Subscribe to our RSS feed

Latest Comments

Search news